PS3 Media Server


Author Reply
Rhythm
Flag
Posts:3297
Comments:130
Thread Kills:87(3%)
AATG Pts:150
Star Rating
Bronze Medal
Linky

Allows playback of HD MKV, along with subtitled Divx stuff. It also lets you read CBR files, browse Youtube, subscribe to podcasts...

Needs a dual-core CPU or a good P4.
#1 at 09:34:33 - 16/01/2009
Syrok
Flag
Posts:3720
Comments:452
Thread Kills:81(2%)
AATG Pts:155
Star Rating
Bronze Medal
The link doesn't work. ;)
#2 at 11:10:50 - 16/01/2009
Rhythm
Flag
Posts:3297
Comments:130
Thread Kills:87(3%)
AATG Pts:150
Star Rating
Bronze Medal
Bah, that's what I get for trying to write links on my phone.

Code.google.com/ps3mediaserver
#3 at 12:15:51 - 16/01/2009
Mapster
Flag
Posts:859
Comments:72
Thread Kills:14(2%)
AATG Pts:80
Star Rating
Bronze Medal
Sounds good. My impressions of the PS3 as a media server are better than the 360, it certainly streams stuff my 360 barfs at.

Also, where can I get these mythical HD MKV files?

#4 at 12:28:00 - 16/01/2009
eviltobz
Flag
Posts:304
Comments:68
Thread Kills:15(5%)
AATG Pts:80
Star Rating
Bronze Medal
Rhythm said:Bah, that's what I get for trying to write links on my phone.

Code.google.com/ps3mediaserver

404 :(
#5 at 14:03:56 - 16/01/2009
frod
Flag
Posts:1243
Comments:102
Thread Kills:35(3%)
AATG Pts:130
Star Rating
Bronze Medal
http://code.google.com/p/ps3mediaserver/
#6 at 14:09:31 - 16/01/2009
Syrok
Flag
Posts:3720
Comments:452
Thread Kills:81(2%)
AATG Pts:155
Star Rating
Bronze Medal
If I use this or stream anything to the PS3 could anyone else gain access to my computer? And I have the problem that if I let the PS3 search for servers I constantly get the error message that there are too many servers. Does anyone know a way around this?
Or put simple can I make a direct connection between my computer and the PS3?

Edit: Actually I think I just put my movies on an external HDD and format the keep on formating the mkv files.
#7 at 14:16:50 - 16/01/2009
Rhythm
Flag
Posts:3297
Comments:130
Thread Kills:87(3%)
AATG Pts:150
Star Rating
Bronze Medal
This has now gone through a couple of updates and works for 360s too
#8 at 22:36:59 - 01/04/2009

home