NTL/Virgin media...


Author Reply
repairmanjack
Flag
Posts:4135
Comments:206
Thread Kills:94(2%)
AATG Pts:240
Star Rating
Silver Medal
...or whatever they're calling themselves now. Been having trouble the last three nights with our broadband cutting out. Goes off in the early evening often to return around midnight - or this morning, as was the case today. We have an engineer coming out on Saturday, but is anyone else having trouble with them at the minute?

The one thing I will say in their favour: the helpline is no longer routed abroad. They picked the phone up on it's fourth ring and someone who'd studied English as their first language was straight on the case.

/recalls recent call to the MS helpline and shudders.
#1 at 10:09:11 - 21/03/2007
Manuel Garcia
Flag
Posts:366
Comments:35
Thread Kills:10(3%)
AATG Pts:120
Star Rating
Bronze Medal
No problems with my BB connection with them, business as usual as far as i can see.
#2 at 10:21:25 - 21/03/2007
repairmanjack
Flag
Posts:4135
Comments:206
Thread Kills:94(2%)
AATG Pts:240
Star Rating
Silver Medal
Hmmm. They did a trouble-shooting session from their end, and claimed there was some cable issue just outside the house. I don't get why it would shut off at pretty much the same time each evening though.
#3 at 10:26:17 - 21/03/2007
Mr J
Flag
Posts:288
Comments:3
Thread Kills:5(2%)
AATG Pts:90
Star Rating
Bronze Medal
We have started having trouble with the 'on demand' services. Recently it has started randomly throwing an error and you ahve to select things three or four times before it will play.

Happening on both our pvr and second box, which is unsusal as they rarely both experience problems at the same time.
#4 at 10:28:26 - 21/03/2007
JimJam
Flag
Posts:2586
Comments:189
Thread Kills:162(6%)
AATG Pts:180
Star Rating
Bronze Medal
My mum's with this lot and she was complaining to me the other day about intermittent broadband failure too. Seems to be sorted out now though...
#5 at 11:11:10 - 21/03/2007
LarryBong
Flag
Posts:286
Comments:17
Thread Kills:8(3%)
AATG Pts:50
Star Rating
I have their broadband and haven't noticed any problems recently.
#6 at 12:36:53 - 21/03/2007
repairmanjack
Flag
Posts:4135
Comments:206
Thread Kills:94(2%)
AATG Pts:240
Star Rating
Silver Medal
Looks like the old trouble has reared its head again. I'm getting disconnected an average of six or seven times a day. Seems to happen every time they start "upgrading" the system en masse.

Anyone else had any trouble recently?
#7 at 12:27:07 - 08/05/2007
Carlo
Flag
Posts:931
Comments:67
Thread Kills:39(4%)
AATG Pts:80
Star Rating
Bronze Medal
Manuel Garcia said:No problems with my BB connection with them, business as usual as far as i can see.
+1
#8 at 12:50:08 - 08/05/2007
Whizzo
Flag
Posts:2712
Comments:146
Thread Kills:51(2%)
AATG Pts:165
Star Rating
Bronze Medal
Had a connection problem a few weeks ago which caused problems all over my area for TV as well been ok since.

However the 20 meg rollout (which I've been upgraded to but am extremly lucky to get faster than 17meg and mostly hover around 12) plus this bullshit from Virgin is making me rather annoyed.
#9 at 13:27:42 - 08/05/2007
Lutzie
Flag
Posts:887
Comments:58
Thread Kills:19(2%)
AATG Pts:120
Star Rating
Silver Medal
We get disconnected every other day. A reboot of the box and the router fixes it though. And it'll have to stay that way, becuase after 3 engineer call outs and a replacement box the problem is exactly the same as it was initially.
#10 at 13:32:28 - 08/05/2007
mentat
Flag
Posts:130
Comments:15
Thread Kills:4(3%)
AATG Pts:80
Star Rating
Bronze Medal
Whizzo said:Had a connection problem a few weeks ago which caused problems all over my area for TV as well been ok since.

However the 20 meg rollout (which I've been upgraded to but am extremly lucky to get faster than 17meg and mostly hover around 12) plus this bullshit from Virgin is making me rather annoyed.


Shit, i didn't know that.

Does it affect everyone?
Why oh why did Blueyonder have to merge?
#11 at 13:46:16 - 08/05/2007
boabg
Flag
Posts:1170
Comments:13
Thread Kills:52(4%)
AATG Pts:65
Star Rating
Their shitty cunting installation CD doesn't seem to recognise nforce network cards.

Sorry, I just had to get that in.

My BB has been quite slow on and off over the last few days.
#12 at 13:58:47 - 08/05/2007
Whizzo
Flag
Posts:2712
Comments:146
Thread Kills:51(2%)
AATG Pts:165
Star Rating
Bronze Medal
mentat said:Shit, i didn't know that.

Does it affect everyone?
Why oh why did Blueyonder have to merge?
Affects all tiers, some of which are really restricted and is being implemented around the country.

I didn't know what was going on when I was using my PC a couple of weeks ago and my downloads just plummeted. I rang the helpline and went through all the usual checks and nothing changed until the cable guy removed my CM from the network then re-added it and bang my speeds were back to normal.

Obviously I then found the many threads over at NTHellworld, DigitalSpy and others which explained it.

It's complete bullshit, they roll out 20 meg, can't handle the load that it'll cause and then bring in a restriction during the most busy time of the day that will knobble you by 75% in speed potentially if you actually download stuff. Which is kind of the point in having a fast connection in the first place.

I'd rather have my old 10 meg solid as a rock without half-arsed restrictions than what they're doing now.

Perhaps they'll get Uma to redo the ads and mention traffic management in them?
#13 at 14:29:56 - 08/05/2007
mentat
Flag
Posts:130
Comments:15
Thread Kills:4(3%)
AATG Pts:80
Star Rating
Bronze Medal
Well, seems that they are really going some to shed customers, eh?

I've already cancelled their now shitty tv offering, looks like I'll have to start looking around for another ISP too.

Way to do business!
#14 at 15:05:34 - 08/05/2007
boabg
Flag
Posts:1170
Comments:13
Thread Kills:52(4%)
AATG Pts:65
Star Rating
mentat said:Well, seems that they are really going some to shed customers, eh?

I've already cancelled their now shitty tv offering, looks like I'll have to start looking around for another ISP too.

Way to do business!


Absolutely "snap".
#15 at 15:16:48 - 08/05/2007
nekotcha
Flag
Posts:1709
Comments:175
Thread Kills:38(2%)
AATG Pts:140
Star Rating
Silver Medal
What the fuck? I'd never heard of this 'shaping' nonsense before, what a load of crap! I don't download stuff particularly heavily but still, I don't want to be punished for doing it at the only time each working day I can actually sit at my PC. FFS, you pay for a thing and then they punish you for using it. Great.

My mind was already made up months ago to switch to a different provider as soon as I move (and can get Sky for my TV) - this still sucks though.
#16 at 21:48:19 - 08/05/2007
Micro_Explosion
Flag
Posts:3361
Comments:83
Thread Kills:129(4%)
AATG Pts:220
Star Rating
Silver Medal
"Anyone caught downloading more than 350 MB will have their connection slowed to 1 Mbps download and 128K upload."

WTF?! That's ridiculously slow and if they started doing that to me then I would leave them.

If they raised the limits to a few Gigs in those peak hours I wouldn't complain as long as I was getting consistently high speeds.
#17 at 22:24:11 - 08/05/2007
kalel
Flag
Posts:312
Comments:17
Thread Kills:3(1%)
AATG Pts:90
Star Rating
Bronze Medal
Can I just say I did NOT write that copy. "Anyone caught"?!?!? Fuck me they're not talking to school children!
#18 at 22:32:42 - 08/05/2007
mentat
Flag
Posts:130
Comments:15
Thread Kills:4(3%)
AATG Pts:80
Star Rating
Bronze Medal
kalel said:Can I just say I did NOT write that copy. "Anyone caught"?!?!? Fuck me they're not talking to school children!


That's just the problem, they seem to think that they can talk to people that way now. Just because they've got the virgin brand.

Well i've been with Telewest/blueyonder for about 7 years now, it's been a great service, right up until virgin take control.
I've gotten rid of the pathetic tv offering, i'm certainly not going to stand for having my speed reduced randomly.
I was a very, very loyal customer, who's now very, very pissed off with them.
I really can't see them staying in business for long with this kind of 'we're better than the rest, so we'll do what we want' attitude. It's utterly pathetic.
#19 at 10:42:49 - 09/05/2007
Whizzo
Flag
Posts:2712
Comments:146
Thread Kills:51(2%)
AATG Pts:165
Star Rating
Bronze Medal
I really didn't care that much about the loss of the Sky channels but tinkering with how the broadband works will, quite possibly, get me jumping ship and going for an ADSL set up with someone else.

Ironically the main reason I wasn't too concerned about Sky channels going was because of internet access. *cough*...

Oh and the 20 meg rollout is just for headlines, it's complete bollocks as no-one seems to get full speed and everyone's speeds seem to have become unreliable since it began. I'm all for quicker internet access but I'd rather have a nice and stable, always 10meg (like I used to have) than one that sometimes drops down to 5-6 even before traffic management bullshit happens.
#20 at 10:53:48 - 09/05/2007
mentat
Flag
Posts:130
Comments:15
Thread Kills:4(3%)
AATG Pts:80
Star Rating
Bronze Medal
I was rather annoyed about the sky channels, but what pissed me off most was that they put the price up, then dropped the sky channels straight after.
They can fuck right off with that bullshit as far as i'm concerned.

The problem is that I don't have a BT phone line, so I guess my options for internet access are somewhat limited. *sigh*
#21 at 11:03:56 - 09/05/2007
Whizzo
Flag
Posts:2712
Comments:146
Thread Kills:51(2%)
AATG Pts:165
Star Rating
Bronze Medal
Looks like VM should be doing more to not put the backs up on their current customers.
#22 at 15:14:56 - 09/05/2007
Furbs
Flag
Posts:2018
Comments:45
Thread Kills:37(2%)
AATG Pts:105
Star Rating
Bronze Medal
At least they've limited it to peak hours before a cap kicks in. I think I can live with that. Part of the reason I've stuck with 4mb is it means I'm less likely to incur their wrath. Although given its a pitifully low figure they've now set, its not that great an idea.
#23 at 15:17:52 - 09/05/2007
repairmanjack
Flag
Posts:4135
Comments:206
Thread Kills:94(2%)
AATG Pts:240
Star Rating
Silver Medal
Nine disconnections last night. Their customer service has returned to India. And my 10meg connection - when it was working - peaked at 1 meg download.

According to them there's f*ck all wrong with it.
#24 at 15:30:13 - 09/05/2007
Mr J
Flag
Posts:288
Comments:3
Thread Kills:5(2%)
AATG Pts:90
Star Rating
Bronze Medal
The dear lady and I have now decided we are going to jump ship. Just to many things being slipped through, loss of channels, choking connections and a V+ box that rarely bloody works. Decided the extra channels really aren't that worth it and if we switch out we can save ourselves 40 a month.

Unbelievably actually looking at BT.
#25 at 16:23:22 - 09/05/2007
JimJam
Flag
Posts:2586
Comments:189
Thread Kills:162(6%)
AATG Pts:180
Star Rating
Bronze Medal
repairmanjack said:Nine disconnections last night. Their customer service has returned to India. And my 10meg connection - when it was working - peaked at 1 meg download.

According to them there's f*ck all wrong with it.


My mum kept on having problems and they eventually conceded that because she was near the end of a line (and from that download speed it looks like you are too) she needed a power booster attached. Can't remember if they did it at the junction box or at the house though.
#26 at 17:05:52 - 09/05/2007
repairmanjack
Flag
Posts:4135
Comments:206
Thread Kills:94(2%)
AATG Pts:240
Star Rating
Silver Medal
JimJam said:
repairmanjack said:Nine disconnections last night. Their customer service has returned to India. And my 10meg connection - when it was working - peaked at 1 meg download.

According to them there's f*ck all wrong with it.


My mum kept on having problems and they eventually conceded that because she was near the end of a line (and from that download speed it looks like you are too) she needed a power booster attached. Can't remember if they did it at the junction box or at the house though.


The line is 8' away. The junction box stands outside our front wall. They had to put an inhibitor on it because we were getting too much internets. O_o

It's just, every three months or so, they overload the system and it falls apart.
#27 at 17:13:20 - 09/05/2007
Ace Grace
Flag
Posts:420
Comments:95
Thread Kills:24(6%)
AATG Pts:80
Star Rating
Bronze Medal
I had frequent disconnections about a month ago.
Engineer came round and replaced my cable modem. Been fine ever since.
#28 at 17:17:34 - 09/05/2007
repairmanjack
Flag
Posts:4135
Comments:206
Thread Kills:94(2%)
AATG Pts:240
Star Rating
Silver Medal
Modem is three months old. That's how they fixed it last time. :(
#29 at 17:28:44 - 09/05/2007
repairmanjack
Flag
Posts:4135
Comments:206
Thread Kills:94(2%)
AATG Pts:240
Star Rating
Silver Medal
Did a speed test this morning and clocked up a download speed of 12meg.

Numpty question: this isn't possible on a 10meg subscription, is it? I have a feel we've been put up to 20meg (without being told) and this has caused the modem to go crazy - which is exactly what happened before.
#30 at 12:31:50 - 10/05/2007

home